Time Machine 1970 #9

11-10-10

Time Machine 1970 #9

Strange Days magazine in Japan is keeping up with it’s “Time Machine” series, which I find quite interesting.

Strange Days 2010.11 lists “September 1970 Albums” as: THE ROLLING STONES “Get Yer Ya-Ya’s Out” (Decca UK LP SKL 5065); IKE & TINA TURNER “The Hunter” (Harvest UK LP SHSP 4001); FLEETWOOD MAC “Kiln House” (Reprise UK LP RSLP 9004); MOTT THE HOOPLE “Mad Shadows” (Island UK LP ILPS 9119); RINGO STARR “Beaucoups Of Blues” (Apple UK LP PAS 10002); NEIL YOUNG “After The Goldrush” (Reprise US LP 6383 with poster); CARAVAN “If I Could Do It All Over Again, I’d Do It All Over You” (Decca UK LP SKL-R 5052); ROD STEWART “Gasoline Alley” (Vertigo UK LP 6360 500); and DONOVAN “Open Road” (Dawn UK LP DNLS 3009).

The only one I don’t own in some form is the Ike & Tina Turner album!  Yet another month where I remember each and every record – like it was last week!  All & sundry were clamoring for The Rolling Stones LP!  Remember?  I was still too young (freshly 12 years of age) to go and see ‘em in concert in 1970.  But the LP was snapped up the week of release, no question!

I knew Fleetwood Mac from “Then Play On” – what was this new one going to sound like without Peter Green?  So, I waited.  A great song appeared on a Warner Brothers sampler LP, “Tell Me All The Things You Do” – so I went for it, the last Fleetwood Mac new LP I ever bought.

I loved the cover and was seriously interested in UK Island Records by the fall of 1970 – so the Mott The Hoople was a natural for me.  I liked it even better than their debut LP.  Still do, in fact.  Ooh, we all loved Ringo Starr, but…this wasn’t the LP that anybody was waiting for.  The “It Don’t Come Easy” 45 was much more ‘of interest’.

Having survived Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young and having enjoyed the first two Neil Young LP’s, I got “After The Goldrush” as a new release.  I still think it’s his best solo album.  I must’ve heard it playing in a hippie record store, hence my youthful interest.

I eventually arrived at Caravan, but certainly not at this time.  I was still rockin’ with The Faces, so – the first Rod Stewart solo album I bought was “Every Picture Tells A Story”, not “Gasoline Alley” – though I did go back and get a lovely UK Vertigo LP of it eventually.

And dear old Donovan has been a favorite for quite a while, by this time.  The US version of “Open Road” was on Epic Records, so that’s what I found.  It’s a pretty good mid-period Donovan LP, but not a favorite.  “Riki Tiki Tavi” was the single here.

Hey, this stuff is 40 years old now!  I remember all of it!

Back on 11/15!

This entry was posted in 1970, Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

