Madness – 7″ Singles

11-9-10

Madness – 7” Singles

Drats!  I somehow missed the Two Tone 45 (“The Prince”)!

7″ ONE STEP BEYOND… / MISTAKES                                 STIFF UK            BUY 56

1979 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ MY GIRL / STEPPING INTO LINE                                      STIFF UK            BUY 62

1979 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ WORK, REST & PLAY (EP)                                                STIFF UK            BUY 71

1980 4 TRK EP with pic sleeve

7″ BAGGY TROUSERS / BUSINESS, THE                           STIFF UK            BUY 84

1980 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ EMBARRASSMENT / CRYING SHAME                            STIFF UK            BUY 102

1980 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ RETURN OF THE LAS PALMAS 7                                    STIFF UK            BUY 108

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ GRAY DAY / MEMORIES                                                     STIFF UK            BUY 112

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ SHUT UP / TOWN WITH NO NAME, A                              STIFF UK            BUY 126

1981 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ CARDIAC ARREST / IN THE CITY                                    STIFF UK            BUY 140

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ HOUSE OF FUN / DON’T LOOK BACK                            STIFF UK            BUY 146

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ DRIVING IN MY CAR                                                            STIFF UK            BUY 153

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

7″ OUR HOUSE / WALKING WITH MR. WHEESE              STIFF UK            BUY 163

1982 2 TRKS with pic sleeve

While this list isn’t every single Madness 45, I did truly try to keep up from the fall of ’79 to roughly “Shut Up” – of course, I missed the unique flexi-discs that came with British magazines (such as their one of Christmas carols).  By ’83, I was totally into ‘European music’ (and Antipodean music), rather than just British pop music.  I did manage to get some of the original Madness 12” singles, and a few foreign variants, too.

I went to London in the fall of 1979, not having made a hotel reservation, and virtually not knowing anyone there.  I think I had already visited France, and had returned to England to catch my flight home; the journey from Paris had been a difficult passage; no sleep.  So, here I am, wandering around Oxford Street, 21 years old.  In the course of one day, I believe I heard three records that really stood out:  The Slits ”I Heard It Through The Grapevine”, Spizzenergi “Soldier Soldier” and Madness “Night Boat To Cairo” – I hadn’t known what any of these records were.  I wrote “Madness” on the back of my hand with a ball point pen, to help me remember (in my haze of no-sleep).

A few months later, Madness came to L.A., played a great show at the Whisky a-go-go, but their stuff released on Sire Records in the U.S. and they did alright for themselves internationally.  For me, it’s always been about their first two albums, and the 7” singles up to “Shut Up”.  I highly recommend their original video collection, “Complete Madness”, just wonderful – “Utter Madness” is good, too – but “Complete Madness” is a joy to watch.  Absolutely don’t miss their film “Take It Or Leave It”!  Fabulous!  It’s probably the best example of a professional band pretending to be themselves at an earlier stage of the game (i.e. acting like they couldn’t play well).

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Madness – 7″ Singles

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    Never was a big fan of Madness, but I remember hearing all three of those crucial songs on WPRK college radio when they came out. Heck, I haven’t heard “Soldier Soldier” since. [memo to self: correct that] Actually, I first heard Madness via their music video for “One Step Beyond” on Rockworld. [syndi hour of clips ca. 1979] I was usually wary about UK musical trends due to the press hype factor. I was distrustful of things like Adam Ant and Ska [at least until I heard them]. But Madness quickly moved beyond their initial influences. I once bought their boxed set but strictly for resale. My fave rave “2nd wave ska” group was The Beat!

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    Spizzenergi covered Roxy Music – you need to hear ’em!

    I was unaware of the forthcoming ska trend of late ’79 – as I said, my intro to Madness was “Night Boat To Cairo” being played in a record store while I was sleep-deprived.

    The Beat were not shabby, either. Too bad the US vers. of their debut album has more tracks than the UK copy (of which I have a gorgeous JPN LP pressing). Gotta have all of their singles! Remember the first time you heard “Mirror In The Bathroom”?

  3. Brian Ware says:

    We’ve previously discussed “shifts of consciousness” upon hearing certain songs at key moments in your life. I must say that the first time I heard “Mirror In The Bathroom” was one of those moments. Man, I love to have a musical epiphany like that again…

  4. Brian Ware says:

    I mean I would love to have a musical epiphany like that again… Awww… you know what I meant.

  5. ronkanefiles says:

    I remember “Mirror In The Bathroom” being hyped, fairly heavily. British press, music snobs etc. Good thing: It was better than I thought it would be, so – pleasantly surprised. Yeah, not many musical epiphanies these days…I sometimes hear something old that I missed…and I finally get it…but it’s not the same.

  6. postpunkmonk says:

    My entreé to The Beat wasn’t “Mirror In The Bathroom.” It was “Tears Of A Clown,” a song I also loved in its original form. True, it was now even better in The Beat’s version. And I do have the US A+M CD of “I Just Can’t Stop It.” How about some definitive RMs of those 3 Beat albums already? Does Brian remember when I decorated my A/V tower unit with a teal version of the “Beat Girl” graphics? It looked pretty sweet. I gave it to Dan Carr when we left Orlando.

  7. Brian Ware says:

    I certainly do remember…

Leave a Reply

