Time Machine 1970 #7

9-15-10


Time Machine 1970 #7

Strange Days magazine in Japan is keeping up with it’s “Time Machine” series, which I find quite interesting.

Strange Days 2010.09 lists “July 1970 Albums” as:  HUMBLE PIE – “Humble Pie” (A&M UK LP AMLS 986); TRAFFIC – “John Barleycorn Must Die” (Island UK LP ILPS 9116); SPOOKY TOOTH featuring MIKE HARRISON – “The Last Puff” (Island UK LP ILPS 9117); FAIRPORT CONVENTION – “Full House” (Island UK LP ILPS 9130); BRIAN AUGER & THE TRINITY – “Before” (RCA UK LP SF 8101); NUCLEUS – “Elastic Rock” (Vertigo UK LP 6360 008); TANGERINE DREAM – “Electronic Meditation” (Ohr DE LP 556.004); CANNED HEAT – “Future Blues” (Liberty / U.A. US LP); BOB DYLAN – “Self Portrait” (Columbia US 2LP C2X 30050)

Traffic’s “John Barleycorn” album is one of my all-time favorite records.  I previously owned an 8-track tape of it!  I presently own a U.S. original LP, a Canadian LP cover variant, a U.K. original LP and a U.K. re-issue LP – as well as a Japanese little paper album cover CD (with bonus tracks).  I do not own this Humble Pie album at all.

I got the Spooky Tooth LP as soon as humanly possible, though probably an A&M US LP at first.  I absolutely love this album, especially the slow blues cover version of “I Am The Walrus”!  Great album!

I like the Fairport Convention LP better now than I did back then; I actually own a UK original LP of it.  Never particularly did any Brian Auger titles, after he ceased working with Julie Driscoll.  I might have a ‘best of’ CD or something.  I do not own this Nucleus album, but am interested in it for a variety of reasons:  I like Ian Carr very much, I like LP’s on Vertigo very much and I am very fond of “British Jazz” – and this title is 100% British electric jazz.

The first Tangerine Dream album I ever heard was “Phaedra”, about 4 years after this debut album came out – but I eventually got all of their Ohr label albums.  I like Canned Heat, but never bought any of their LP’s on ‘real time’.  I kept a double CD “best of” for Canned Heat – and I acknowledge that I should be more conversant in their works.

I definitely was chasing the Bob Dylan material by this point – we’re all thankful that it didn’t appear to be another country album!  I liked it fine upon release, but…I still was working on assimilating all of his 60’s work in 1970.  At this point, I had not heard any of “The Basement Tapes” – but I had seen the “GWW” bootleg LP.

So, July 1970 albums look like “New Releases” to me.  I remember when all of these were released, and I clamored to buy 4 or 5 of them!  My favorite album here by a country mile is the Traffic title, followed closely by the Spooky Tooth album (which I just played again the other night).  By 1970, I definitely paid attention to anything on Island Records from England.  It was likely right around July, 1970 that I first wrote to them, requesting a catalogue (their address was printed on many Island UK LP covers!).

This entry was posted in Record Collecting, Time Machine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

