The Coasters

9-14-10


The Coasters

I was born in 1958, and began to get seriously interested in rock music around 1967 or so.  I had my sister’s copy of the 2nd Frank Zappa / Mothers of Invention LP, “Absolutely Free” – a song on there contained the lyrics “The other night we painted posters – we played some records by The Coasters” – so from about 1967 or so, I knew I needed to know who / what The Coasters were.

Next step, I found a 45 of “Run Red Run” at a hardware store not all that far from my home for 10 cents.  I showed it to my sister, and she showed me that she had a 45 of a Coasters song “Little Egypt”.  Within a year or two, I was looking for an LP – any LP – by The Coasters.  Of course, “Greatest Hits” (Atco SD 33-111) was what I found, as it remained in print at the end of the 60’s.

I mentioned my interest in The Coasters to the nice hippies at the downtown Long Beach hippie record store – they kind of smirked, smiled…they knew about The Coasters.  “You should try to find the 45 of “Down In Mexico” by The Coasters – it’s about pot!”, I was told.  Well, this observation went in one ear and out the other – I had no idea (then, as now) about ‘drugs’.  What I knew as a child, about The Coasters – the records were funny (and professionally written and performed).

I could never seem to find all of their four proper Atco LP’s.  It literally took until the early 80’s for me to land copies of “One By One” (Atco SD 33-123) and “Coast Along With The Coasters” (SD 33-135) – “Coast Along…” is one of my favorite LP’s ever made.  I finally got their debut LP “The Coasters” (Atco 33-101) at a swap meet in Emeryville, CA – about 1985 or so.

Which brings me to 2010 – Got ‘em all on CD now, so let’s work on the original Coasters 45’s!  I recently finally got a 45 of “Down In Mexico”, so it got me thinking: “Really ought to try and find all of The Coasters 45’s that I don’t already own!”.  I now have:

7″ SMOKEY JOE’S CAFÉ / JUST LIKE A FOOL                          ATCO US  45-6059 as “The Robins”

7″ DOWN IN MEXICO / TURTLE DOVIN’                                     ATCO US  45-6064

7″ SEARCHIN’ / YOUNG BLOOD                                                  ATCO US  45-6087

7″ IDOL WITH THE GOLDEN HEAD                                            ATCO US  45-6098

7″ YAKETY YAK / ZING! WENT THE STRINGS…                       ATCO US  45-6116

7″ CHARLIE BROWN / THREE COOL CATS                              ATCO US  45-6132

7″ ALONG CAME JONES / THAT IS ROCK & ROLL                  ATCO US  45-6141

7″ POISON IVY / I’M A HOG FOR YOU                                          ATCO US  45-6146

7″ RUN RED RUN / WHAT ABOUT US                                        ATCO US  45-6153

7″ LITTLE EGYPT / KEEP ON ROLLING                                     ATCO US  45-6192

7″ TEACH ME HOW TO SHIMMY / RIDIN’ HOOD                       ATCO US  45-6219

7″ SPEEDO’S BACK IN TOWN / T’AIN’T NOTHIN’ TO ME         ATCO US  45-6287

7″ LOVEY DOVEY / BAD DETECTIVE                                           ATCO US  45-6300

So there’s probably 6 or 7 more that I would love to find – “Saturday Night Fish Fry” for instance – which I think was their last Atco 45.

This entry was posted in Record Collecting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Coasters

  1. postpunkmonk says:

    I had 45-6146 as a child. Lieber & Stoller loved writing for these guys. They saved some of their wittiest material for them.

  2. ronkanefiles says:

    I first heard those songs of the original Atco “Greatest Hits” LP.

Leave a Reply

